Why England were not given a penalty after Harry Kane was fouled by France’s Dayot Upamecano

England felt they were denied a clear penalty during their World Cup clash with France after Harry Kane was brought down by Dayot Upamecano in the first half.

Kane showed impressive strength to win the ball back from Upamecano near France’s penalty area but was then brought down by the Bayern Munich centre-back right on the edge of the box.

Harry Kane goes down from a challenge by France’s Dayot Upamecano.
England’s appeals for a penalty were denied by VAR

Kane immediately appealed for a penalty, while Brazilian referee Wilton Sampaio opted not to award a foul and urged the England captain to get to his feet.

VAR checked the decision and stuck with Sampaio’s initial decision to not award England a penalty.

Subsequent replays shows that contact was initially made just outside of France’s are.

Meanwhile, VAR cannot award free kicks retrospectively, which is why England ended up with nothing from that incident, despite it appearing to be a clear foul on Kane.

Aurelien Tchouameni’s superb long-range strike gave France the lead in the 17th minute but England equalised through Kane in the second half after Bukayo Saka won a penalty.

Dayot Upamecano made contact with Harry Kane just outside France’s penalty area.

Olivier Giroud then put France back in front with 12 minutes remaining as he got on the end of Antoine Griezmann’s superb cross from the left flank.

Kane was then handed another chance to pull England level from the penalty spot in the 84th minute but he blazed his effort over the bar.


No comments:

Post a Comment